Why I #Occupy

If you have click through any of this worded mess these topics are not at all new to me but giving interviews and the questions never hammer home the nails I am trying to convey
instead
it leaves the interviewer dumbfounded asking more questions off the record and buying me coffee and at least that’s been my experience on the ground in Liberty Square or at a direct action….
Everyone has the why I Occupy story
in reality most people have had the Occupy life
or
they were hit with the grave fact that the powers that be plus the odds were not in their favor,the tables are rigged and if you can prove me wrong I can sell you a bridge whilst you buy me a pint
My story is told throughout these pages of mumbled tags,drunken ramblings and dreaded tales of lost working love
I’ll give the answer that almost everyone has asked me since setting foot near the park

Q;So where do you see yourself in 5 to 7 years?

A;Can I answer that in concrete on the record ?
I get a nod of yes…so I light a smoke and watch the eyes glare as I begin to speak

A;In all honesty..I will be no longer on this earth..yes dead
I’ve watched good men work their whole lives
my grandfather came here and built these bridges and tunnels with my uncles
my father worked on cars and then another trade til they threw him away
I work next to men who gave 40 years of their life to companies only to be asked to work more
as for myself I work two jobs for the equivalent of a bowel of soup
this is not a life for anyone,this is not life
the work will kill me or I will eventually take my own life before these companies do
-They stare in amazement-
Standing by and watching the next generation of young adults and little kids go uneducated and thrown into a system designed to eat them alive is condoning it…they need a future
-They stand jaw opened-
I am exactly where this system wants me,in debt beyond repair but still producing capitol for them
I have no future
but I will be damned if I watch another generation fall in line and be fed to this machine
no one should go quietly in the night,people have the ability and this is now
if not for the people they came from but for the children who are coming…

-silence-

Q;You really only work for xxxxxxxx? No college?
Q;You want a coffee?

I stand with Occupy and anyone making stand just for the free coffee

2 responses to “Why I #Occupy

  1. This was a pretty awesome rant. Loved it. Perfect. Alot of prople are saying oh the occupy movement needs demands or answers. I say yeah we do but first everybody needs to get mad and involved. The mad and involved and thinking about these issues instead of just complaining and thats what the occupy movement is about i think. We are not not just standing around complaining. Were screaming at the top of our lungs saying this sucks we need drastic change come help us.
    I think alot of people agree with the occupy movement but they have commitments to humans they need to feed and can only see a 9-5 solution. I dont think alot of people even realize how fucked they are. So the occupy movement i think is about educating everyone u know about this issue until everyone understands it then we can sort out how to fix it. My hope is that we all figure it out before everyone we know is homeless.

    • The demands are the demands of humanity,the politics are simple..what you would want for yourselves is the same that any other person would want,the average person did not do this damage to the world or this country but it is the duty of the average person to rip it from the hands of the criminals who did,I have more faith in masked men/woman than in suits and ties.

Leave a Reply

