Too Many Doors on Ave.A

Smoke floats from the doorway cutting through the rain
The drenched city is mine but she brought the weather
I know this place and street all too well
Puddles I’ve stumbled over and slushed through on a long way home,conversations I’ve witnessed passing by on nights that never included me
I light the next cigarettes and just listen
Words of freinds to fan and back again
Streetlights catching pillows of the chain smoke
Whilst I’m just a bystander watching her talk
Drinks on the bar calling my name
As always she has to go
I could listen to this amazing girl every rainy night
And still not believe
A word

Leave a Reply

